A few weeks ago I posted about using artist quotes to engage students in lessons.  Here are the answers to the quote match ups.  Surprised?  What's your favourite quote by an artist?

"I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn't say any other way--things I had no words for"
-Georgia O'Keeffe

"Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things"
- Edgar Degas

"The painting has a life of its own. I try to let it come through" 
- Jackson Pollock

"Creativity takes courage"
-Henri Matisse

"I sat staring, staring, staring - half lost, learning a new language or rather the same language in a different dialect" -
Emily Carr

"I shut my eyes in order to see"
- Paul Gauguin

"Painting is just another way of keeping a diary"
- Pablo Picasso

"I sense a scream passing through nature. I painted ... the clouds as actual blood. The colour shrieked"
  - Edvard Munch












Leave a Reply.